Subscribe to Future Posts on A Catholic Life

Enter email address:

Thursday, November 8, 2012
Gregorian Chant: Together on the Way

Tuesday, besides being the release of Christmas in the Cloister, was the release of Gregorian Chant: Together on the Way.  This is the 4th album Jade Music is doing with the Norbertine Fathers of St. Michael's Abbey.  I have written about prior releases before as well. This newest album includes chant performed with the Pacific Symphony Orchestra at Segerstrom Hall. Liner notes are by Carl St.Clair, the music director of the Pacific Symphony.
1. Dominabitur Gradual, Feast of Christ the King
2. Oremus pro Pontifice for the Holy Father
3. Anima Christi in honor of the Blessed Sacrament
4. Adoremus in honor of the Blessed Sacrament
5. Qui sunt isti Responsory, Common of Apostles
6. Resurrexi Introit, Easter Sunday
7. Lætatus sum Gradual, Fourth Sunday of Lent (Lætare Sunday)
8. Cantemus Tract, Easter Vigil
9. Tota pulchra es Hymn, in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary
10. Litany of the Sacred Heart of Jesus
11. Anima mea Antiphon, in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary
12. Christus Gradual, Good Friday
13. Dum fabricator Antiphon, Good Friday
For three grace-filled nights in February of 2011 the choir of St. Michael’s chanted at Segerstrom Hall to introduce and complement Maestro Carl St. Clair’s conception of Anton Bruckner’s Symphony 9 as performed by the Pacific Symphony Orchestra. Then, in March of 2012, Biola University asked the Norbertines to chant at the close of their Art Symposium on Sacred Space as a demonstration of what sacred music should fill a sacred space.

Although the Fathers knew those who heard them would for the most part not understand what they were chanting, it was their fondest hope that by listening they would be inspired to join their hearts in prayer.

Since none of these concerts were recorded, the Norbertines thought to capture the experience in the only way possible—to produce this album with the same pieces sung before, yet in the very homely studio of their own abbey church and now with translations provided.
I have been pleased to review the entirety of this album prior to its release and I am very pleased to fully endorse and recommend this to everyone.  Please purchase a copy today (either as a CD or digitally) and help support the Norbertine Fathers.


Post a Comment

Copyright / Disclaimer

Copyright Notice: Unless otherwise stated, all items are copyrighted under a Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. If you quote from this blog, cite a link to the post on this blog in your article.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links on this blog are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and/or believe will add value to my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”