Wednesday, September 7, 2005
Catholic Feast Days

Catholic Feastdays are days set aside to remember important people and events through the course of the Faith from the time of Mary's birth all the way through today honoring the saints. The calendar of saints has been changed throughout Church history to remove some saints in order that others may be celebrated too. One of these changes occurred in 1969, which greatly altered (arguably in a very bad way), the calendar.

Today, some Traditional Catholics like to follow the pre-1955 Calendar, some prefer the 1955 Calendar, and some prefer the 1962 Calendar.  These three calendars are very similar.

The following calendar lists the General Roman Catholic Calendar.  Many saints are not on the General Calendar and some are only on specific calendars of specific orders or for specific areas of the world.  Yet, all saints have a feastday in the year, even if it is not universally celebrated on the General Calendar.

Recommended Volumes of Meditation on the Catholic Liturgical Year:

The Liturgical Year (15 Volume Set) by Father Dom Gueranger

Movable Feasts (Those That Do Not Fall on the Same Date Each Year):

The following is indicates the Liturgical Year according to the General Roman Catholic Calendar of 1954 with the following exceptions: With the advent of the 1955 Calendar, Pope Pius XII instituted the feast of "Saint Joseph the Worker" on May 1 (moving the feast of "Saints Philip and James Apostles" from May 1, where it had been since the sixth century, to May 11, and suppressing the "Solemnity of Saint Joseph, Spouse of the Blessed Virgin Mary" that, since Pope Pius IX's decree of September 10, 1847, had been celebrated on the second Wednesday after the Octave of Easter).  He also instituted the feast of the Blessed Virgin Mary, Queen on May 31; to make room for it, he moved the feast of Saint Angela Merici to June 1.

Traditional Calendar (1954).   

Differences related to different calendars are noted in italicsSome Masses that were only celebrated in certain places at this time and were not on the Universal Calendar are noted as "Mass in Some Places":


(1) Feast of the Holy Name: Sunday between the Circumcision and Epiphany [or January 2, when no such Sunday occurs]

Note: In a leap year, the Vigil of St. Matthias is kept on February 24, and any Feasts usually occurring from February 24 through 28 are kept one day later.

Friday after Passion Sunday: Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary - Greater Double

Wednesday after the II Sunday after Easter: Solemnity of St. Joseph, C - Double of the I Class
Wednesday after the III Sunday after Easter: Octave Day of St. Joseph, C - Greater Double


Movable Masses in Some Places:
  • The Prayer of Christ (Tuesday after Septuagesima)
  • Commemoration of the Passion of Christ (Tuesday after Sexagesima) [outside link]
  • The Sacred Crown of Thorns (Friday after Ash Wednesday)
  • The Sacred Lance and Nails (Friday after the First Sunday in Lent)
  • The Holy Shroud (Friday after the Second Sunday in Lent)
  • The Five Holy Wounds (Friday after the Third Sunday in Lent)
  • The Precious Blood (Friday after the Fourth Sunday in Lent)
  • Our Lady Queen of the Apostles (Saturday after the Ascension)
  • The Eucharistic Heart of Jesus (Thursday the Sacred Heart)
  • The Immaculate Heart of Mary (Saturday after the Octave of the Sacred Heart of Jesus)
  • Our Lady Mother of Mercy (Saturday after the 4th Sunday of July)
  • Our Lady of Consolation (Saturday after the Feast of St. Augustine)
  • Our Lady Help of the Sick (Saturday after the last Sunday in August)
  • Our Lady Mother of Divine Providence (Saturday after the 3rd Sunday in November)


del_button May 26, 2008 at 6:17 AM
Ding Dong said...

I need the important ones only!!
Plzz list them

del_button December 31, 2008 at 4:15 PM
Anonymous said...

Thank you so much!!! This really helped me with my Confirmation homework. :)

del_button May 25, 2009 at 9:02 AM
Anonymous said...

Thank you for this helpful information. I needed this for reference on projects. God bless you.

del_button August 11, 2009 at 9:00 PM
Anonymous said...

There is a good site here for more about Saint Joan of Arc

del_button January 7, 2010 at 6:09 PM
Anonymous said...

bah thares too much but thanxx anyway theres like one for every dayy!!!

del_button February 14, 2010 at 8:30 PM
Anonymous said...

thank you

del_button May 1, 2010 at 8:54 PM
Anonymous said...

thxx soooooooo much helping wiff confirmation homework but ONLY IMPORTANT ONES!!!!!! :] :) x]

del_button December 12, 2010 at 1:57 PM
Anonymous said...

this helped alot. thanks

del_button January 1, 2012 at 5:02 PM
Anonymous said...

In regards to your calendar of Catholic feast days, I do not understand why you continue to utilize what you call the "traditional" calendar.

Is that not simply a form of "cafeteria-Catholicism"; refusing to accept the current calendar as decreed by the Vatican?

del_button January 1, 2012 at 5:41 PM
Matthew said...

Catholics are free to use the traditional Catholic Calendar. Realize that different Rites in the Church have different calendars. The byzantines, for example, have both Old and New Calendars. The Roman Rite has several legitimate options. Saying that the Vatican has decreed for use to follow subsequent calendars is unfounded - there is no decree requiring such

del_button September 3, 2013 at 4:41 AM
raymond salvador said...

Your calender needs a VERY IMPORTANT addition:


That should never be missed. It's the very next Sunday right directly after Easter, as decreed by the Lord through St. Faustina and established by Bl. Pope John Paul II after the hard-pushing promotion of Bl. Fr. Sopocko - St. Faustina's spiritual director.

Any who abide by the request of Holy Confession (within 8 days before or after that Sunday) and then on THAT specific Sunday, receives Him in the state of grace in Holy Communion, receives full pardon for their sins. That's a big one to be noted in a bright-colored circle on all of our calenders.

<3 Please add that one in. :) Lord God love you.

del_button July 18, 2014 at 3:25 PM
Matthew said...

Divine Mercy Sunday is not part of Catholic Tradition. For that reason it is not on the calendar.

del_button August 15, 2014 at 7:21 AM
Anonymous said...

What has happened to St Vincent De Paul on Sept 27th

del_button August 16, 2014 at 7:30 AM
Matthew said...

From the time of his feast's introduction in 1737 up until 1969 his feast was always held on July 19th.

del_button December 18, 2014 at 8:37 PM
Anonymous said...


del_button December 19, 2014 at 6:48 AM
Matthew said...

The main feast is Easter

del_button May 3, 2016 at 2:32 AM
Kaitlyn Facista said...

Thank you for this list!

Post a Comment

Subscribe to Future Posts on "A Catholic Life"

Enter email address:


Copyright © 2005 – 2014 A Catholic Life. All Rights Reserved. Hosting: Dream Host. Visit us at Google+