Sunday, June 18, 2006
Louisiana Abortion Trigger Ban Becomes Law

Trigger Laws: An Overview

There are now 7 states with such trigger laws in effect that will ban abortion-on-demand as soon as Roe v. Wade is overturned. They are Arkansas, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, and Utah.

Louisiana Trigger Law:

Louisiana Democratic Gov. Kathleen Blanco has signed a bill into law in June 2006 that will criminalize abortion AFTER Roe v. Wade is overturned. This new law is known as a trigger law in that it will only take effect after Roe v. Wade is already overturned by the Supreme Court. The law would ban abortions in all cases except to save the life of the mother. South Dakota passed a similiar law in March 2006 except it was to become law immediately; it was not a trigger ban. That law is currently hanging in the balance and awaiting a vote by South Dakota citizens this fall. We need to pray for it's success.

Photo: (Lee Celano/Reuters)

0 comment(s):

Post a Comment

Copyright Notice: Unless otherwise stated, all items are copyrighted under a Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. If you quote from this blog, cite a link to the post on this blog in your article.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links on this blog are “affiliate links.” This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. As an Amazon Associate, for instance, I earn a small commission from qualifying purchases made by those who click on the Amazon affiliate links included on this website. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”